What is the TED Prize (and how can you win next year’s)?


Just Do It!

Originally posted on TED Blog:

by Natasha Scripture

What do a British chef, a Newcastle University professor and an anti-corruption activist have in common? They’re all winners of the TED Prize – a cash award, currently for $1,000,000, given annually to a forward-thinking individual with a fresh, bold vision for sparking global change to make the world a better place.

The Prize begins with a big wish – one that will motivate people around the world to get involved. Imagine an inspiring, high-impact idea that needs the support of a global community of activists, big thinkers and social entrepreneurs. Each TED Prize winner is a rare and powerful combination: someone who knows how to capture imaginations as well as how to make a measurable impact. From Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution (2010) to Sugata Mitra’s School in the Cloud (2013) to our most recent Prize winner Charmian Gooch and her campaign against anonymous corporations, the TED Prize has…

View original 88 more words

About these ads

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s